为应对国际经济形势的新变化,并加强加拿大西安大略大学(Western University)与亚洲机构已有的密切联系,作为WORLDiscoveries® (WD)子公司, WORLDiscoveries® ASIA于2011年在香港成立了第一个办事处。近几年里,中国政府在各个层次上为加强研发能力、促进本土知识产业创新,大量投资于引进国际先进技术。因此,在2012年初WORLDiscoveries® Asia 决定在中国南京建立办事处。WD Asia 的南京办事处是加拿大大学在中国的第一个科技转移机构,它的成立标志着WD Asia 成长的又一个里程碑。

WD Asia 的目标在于加强加拿大西安大略大学在亚洲地区的形象,并促进与当地的科研合作及在科技产业化领域的互动。
为实现这些目标,在中国的策略重点将包括:

1.    通过访问和交流,推进加拿大西安大略大学与中国合作伙伴(包括顶尖学术机构与商业伙伴)之间紧密的合作关系并促进高质量的科研项目发展。

2.通过与各级政府机构,以及在科技转移和交流领域领先的组织的合作,建立一个在中国推广西安大略大学的卓越科研和技术的长期系统的机制。

3 在当地政府和产业感兴趣的领域内,选择合適的西安大略大学持有的知识产权,以知识产权转让或成立始创公司的方式积极推动它们的市场营销,从而增加西安大略大学的财政收入和其他増值。

In response to changing tides in the global economy, and building upon strong existing ties between Western University and Asian institutions, the first office of WORLDiscoveries® Asia was founded in Hong Kong in 2011 as a subsidiary of WORLDiscoveries®.  In recent years, all levels of the Chinese government have invested significant capital in bringing international advanced technology to China, in order to enhance R & D and innovation in Chinese knowledge-based industries.  Therefore, in early 2012, WORLDiscoveries® Asia made the decision to expand its operations by setting up an office in Nanjing, China.  The Nanjing office of WORLDiscoveries® Asia is the first Canadian university technology transfer institution in China.  It marks an important milestone in the development of WORLDiscoveries® Asia.

WORLDiscoveries® Asia aims to enhance Western University’s profile and level of engagement in the region in the areas of research collaboration and technology commercialization.

To achieve this goal, the strategic focus includes:

  1. forging stronger relationships and higher-quality research collaboration projects between Western University and preferred Chinese partners (including both leading academic institutions and industry players) through mission trips and personnel exchange
  2. establishing a long-term and systemic mechanism in China for promoting Western University’s research excellence and technologies – through partnering with government agencies, at all levels, as well as leading organizations in the field of technology transfer and exchange
  3. bringing in revenue and other value-add by selecting Western University-owned intellectual property that matches the interest areas defined by Chinese local government and industry, and actively marketing it – with a view to licensing deals and/or start-up formation.